Skip to Content

Multiple Provinces In Canada Have Closed Their Borders To Non-Essential Traffic

Share The Article

Last Updated

So far, 8 provinces and territories have set up such checkpoints and travel restrictions.

While the coronavirus pandemic has prompted a shutdown of non-essential travel at the Canada-U.S. border, a number of provinces have also set up checkpoints at their borders to restrict traffic, raising questions about the constitutionality of such measures.

“It does depend to some extent on what it is they're asking you to do,” said constitutional expert Wayne MacKay, professor emeritus of law at Dalhousie University.

“It does raise some constitutional questions, particularly because of Section 6 of the Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms, which is the mobility rights provision.”

Provincial Travel Restrictions For Canadians Over May Long Weekend
Gatineau police set up roadblocks on the Quebec side of the Alexandra Bridge on April 1. The roadblock is intended to stop non-essential travel into the province. (Francis Ferland/CBC)

So far, the eight provinces and territories that have set up such checkpoints and travel restrictions are:


Gatineau police have set up checkpoints on interprovincial bridges and other roadways to enforce a ban on non-essential travel into western Quebec, which includes visitors crossing into Quebec from Ontario. 

Checkpoints have been set up at the Masson-Angers ferry, Alexandra Bridge, Portage Bridge, Chaudière Bridge and Champlain Bridge.

Police have also set up checkpoints to restrict access to eight regions: Bas-Saint-Laurent, Saguenay–Lac-Saint-Jean, Gaspésie–Îles-de-la-Madeleine, Abitibi-Témiscamingue, Côte-Nord, Nord-du-Québec, Nunavik and Cree territories around James Bay.

Drivers and passengers are asked about the purpose of their trip to assess whether or not it's essential, which include travel for essential work, medical appointments or for humanitarian reasons. Otherwise, police are turning back motorists.

Nova Scotia

Nova Scotia has implemented checkpoints at every major entry point into the province, and anyone entering is stopped and questioned.

Highways, airports and ferry terminals are being monitored, with staff telling travellers to self-isolate for 14 days, no matter where they're coming from.

border checkpoint
Image: Global

“For those who are not essential service and want to enter our province for social purposes, please stay home,” Premier Stephen McNeil said in March when announcing the measures.

Some travellers are exempt from the self-isolation rules, including truckers, medical staff and other essential personnel.

New Brunswick

Restrictions have been put in place for all travellers arriving from outside the province. All travel deemed unnecessary has been prohibited, with peace officers given authorization to turn away visitors who attempt to enter.

bc border checkpoint
There was a growing line of vehicles entering New Brunswick at the Quebec border in Campbellton Wednesday night as an officer asked all motorists a series of questions to screen for COVID-19. (Serge Bouchard/Radio-Canada)

Travellers entering the province from Quebec, Prince Edward Island and Nova Scotia will be stopped by peace officers and required to produce identification. Contact information and intended destinations are being collected and tracked for all travellers, including those travelling through New Brunswick to another province.

Meanwhile, interprovincial travellers, like international travellers, will need to self-isolate for 14 days. There are, however, exemptions for essential workers.


In P.E.I., those travellers coming off the Confederation Bridge are being stopped and screened, as health officers ask them where they are coming from, are they from the province and do they show any symptoms of the virus.

The measures are also in place at the province's Charlottetown Airport and the ferry terminal in Souris.

Officials direct anyone coming from out of province, including within Canada to self-isolate for 14 days. Contact information is taken from anyone exhibiting symptoms. Exemptions are being made for essential personnel, such as health-care workers, truck drivers and airline crews.

Northwest Territories

“To limit the spread of COVID-19, visitors are not allowed entry into the N.W.T.,” according to the government's website.

Nunavut residents travelling through and who need to stay overnight must stay in their accommodations until leaving and practise self-isolation during that time. If they are sick, they must not travel into the Northwest Territories — or immediately go into self-isolation if they get sick.

Essential workers are exempted from the entry restrictions but must self-isolate for 14 days upon arrival.


Any person entering Yukon will be stopped by an enforcement officer, required to fill out an information form detailing travel plans, including details such as phone number and planned stops.

Non-residents who must transit through Yukon to Alaska or Northwest Territories or another part of Canada may do so but can only stay in Yukon for no more than 24 hours. Meanwhile, travellers into the territory, including residents, must self isolate for 14 days except for those providing critical services.



In Nunavut, travel that originated from across any interjurisdictional border is prohibited, and only residents and critical workers are permitted inside. However, returning residents must complete a 14-day self-isolation period in Ottawa, Winnipeg, Edmonton or Yellowknife. They will need a clearance letter from the respective health officer of that city that authorizes them to return to Nunavut.


The province hasn't closed its interprovincial borders, but it has established checkpoints at the five busiest crossings — four entering from Saskatchewan and one from Ontario —  to inform travellers of the risk of COVID-19.

C:\Users\coach\Desktop\border checkpoint quebec.jpg
A sign at the U.S.-Canada border crossing at Emerson, Man., on March 24, warns returning travellers to stay home for two weeks after their return. (Sean Kavanagh/CBC)

For the latest U.S  & Canada Travel News join our: Facebook Community

Source: CBC