Skip to Content

Austria Reopening For Tourism June 16th

Share The Article

Last Updated

The below article is 2020 reopening information for Austria. —-> For updated and recent 2021 information, please go to “Austria: Covid-19 Entry Requirements Guide”

…original article continues below….

Austria has officially reopened its borders to for tourism on June 16, 2020.

The first 31 countries that have authorization to travel to Austria include all of the European Union nations.

Visitors from the approved EU countries can visit Austria without a quarantine period or testing.

Vienna Austria, now reopen to EU tourists

Which Countries Can Travel To Austria?

  • EU nations
  • EU+/EFTA 
  • Select third-party nations of Australia, Japan, New Zealand,  South Korea, Uruguay
austria reopen tourism

Quarantine and Testing Rules

As of December 19, 2020 all passengers must quarantine for 10 days upon arrival into Austria. 

A PCR test can be conducted on Day 5, of which a negative result will end the 10-day quarantine early. 

Austria Reopening To tourists from 31 countries

Entry Ban Updates

Entry is prohibited to third-country nationals when arriving from states outside the Schengen area (except those listed above as safe countries). Exemptions apply. Third-country nationals travelling from inside the Schengen area have to carry a medical certificate proving a negative COVID-19 test result AND are additionally obligated to commit to a 10-day self-quarantine.

Austria Reopening For Tourism

Austria Allowing Reunification of Un-Married Couples #LoveIsNotTourism

Austria is now allowing the reunification for un-married couples, even if one partner is from the USA, however Americans will have to bring a negative PCR test within 72 hours of departure AND quarantine for 10 days upon arrival.

Since the Austrian government has been vaguer than some other EU nations, as seems to be treating entry on a case by case basis, eager lovers looking to reunite should contact the Austrian consulate before traveling, and have lots of paperwork ready to show proof of their relationship.

What are the rules for visiting Austria?

While you visit Austria, the government is asking all tourists to adbide by these health regulations:

  • Social distancing of 1 metre between strangers
  • Avoiding hugging, kissing or hand shaking as greetings
  • Wearing a mask where necessary
  • Frequent hand washing
Austria Reopening For Tourism to 31 nations

Is entry into Austria based on nationality, residency or location?

BOTH residency and location. You have to be a resident of one of the above approved countries, and have physically been in one of the above approved countries for the past 14 days. 

What’s Open in Austria?

Many tourists will find most things are open in Austria, but they may have different rules or limited hours compared to before.

  • Hotels and inns have been re-opening since late-May
  • Restaurants, cafes, and eateries have been re-opening since May 15
  • Indoor and outdoor events of up to 100 people
  • Museums, zoos, swimming pools, etc have all be re-opening since May 29

Update November 2:

Due to rising Coronavirus cases the Austrian government have decided to implement a second lockdown from  November 3 until  January 18, 2021. Measures include:

  • Hotels are closed to leisure travellers/tourists; only business travellers are allowed to stay in hotels. Visitors who are already staying at a hotel when the measures take effect are allowed to remain there until their scheduled departure.
  • Restaurants and bars can only offer takeout/delivery services, dining in is not permitted.
  • Events such as concerts, plays, exhibitions etc. are cancelled.
  • Museums, theatres, cinemas, gyms, pools, zoos, amusement parks, and other culture and leisure facilities must close (exception: libraries).
  • All ski resorts are closed to the general public during lockdown. Ski area openings scheduled for November have been postponed to December. Professional ski teams will still be able to train.
  • Cable cars are closed.
  • Christmas markets cannot take place until 30 November.
  • Shops can remain open; there must be at least 10 square metres (110 sq-ft) of space per customer. Personal services such as hairdressers can also remain open.
  • Until 12 November, a curfew is in place (8 pm – 6 am).
Vienna reopen to tourists

Have Flights Resumed to Austria?

Yes. Many flights have already resumed into Vienna, Innsbruck and Salzburg.

Austrian Air has the most flight availability across popular European cities, but other airlines already flying directly into Austria include: Lufthansa, Swiss Air, Air Serbia, LOT, Wizz Air, Eurowings and Laudamotion.

Read More: Want to see what other countries are open? Read our complete list of countries now reopen for tourism

Disclaimer: Austria’s reopening news is ever-changing and being updated constantly. We do our best to keep this article up to date with all the latest information, but the decision to travel is ultimately your responsibility. Contact your consulate and/or local authorities to confirm your nationality’s entry before traveling.

For the latest reopening Travel News and discussion,  join our: Facebook Community


Wednesday 11th of November 2020

We are Americans with a US passport residing in Saudi Arabia. I don't see Saudi on any lists. Where can we go in Europe with a negative CPR cert, and with no isolation?

Kashlee Kucheran

Wednesday 11th of November 2020

You're right, Saudi isn't on many lists at all. For countries in the EU = only Croatia with a 48 hour PCR test


Monday 19th of October 2020

I'm from Hong Kong and planing to Austria on Dec, may i know is possible?

Kashlee Kucheran

Monday 19th of October 2020

Currently, China (or Hong Kong) is not permitted into Austria. We don't know what the rules might be in December.


Friday 2nd of October 2020

Hello. For Georgian People is possible enter visit to Vienna? (Georgia. Tbilisi)

Kashlee Kucheran

Saturday 3rd of October 2020

No sorry not at this time. Georgia is not on the approved list


Wednesday 23rd of September 2020

Hello I am Indonesian may I enter Europe? Or which country in schengen list, I allowed to enter?

Kashlee Kucheran

Wednesday 23rd of September 2020

Hello Pat. No sorry not at this time. The EU is closed to almost all third-party countries, including Indonesia. However some countries in Europe (not EU or Schengen) like Serbia and Albania are allowing Indonesian tourists


Monday 21st of September 2020

Hi dear, I'm from the Philippines currently residing in Doha. Am I allowed to apply a Schengen visa bound to Greece? Thanks in advance for the information and assistance.

Kashlee Kucheran

Monday 21st of September 2020

No sorry. Neither the Philippines nor Qatar are approved countries to visit Greece at this time