This post may have affiliate links, which means we may receive a small commission (at no extra cost to you!) if you choose to purchase through them. Here's our Disclosure & Privacy Policy for more info.
Spread the love

Last Updated

Luxembourg officially reopened for tourism on June 15, 2020.

Luxembourg first reopened borders to Germany, Belgium and France, and then extended entry to all EU, EFTA and Schengen nations later in June. Starting July 1, Luxembourg also reopened for select third-party nations as suggest by the EU.

luxembourg reopen

Below we have a full list of all countries that can currently visit Luxembourg, entry requirements, and everything else you need to know about traveling to Luxembourg at this time.

Luxembourg reopening tourism

Countries Allowed to Travel to Luxembourg

  • Algeria
  • Andorra
  • Australia
  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • Bulgaria
  • Canada
  • Croatia
  • Cyprus
  • Czechia
  • Denmark
  • Estonia
  • Finland
  • France
  • Georgia
  • Germany
  • Greece
  • Hungary
  • Iceland
  • Ireland
  • Italy
  • Japan
  • Latvia
  • Liechtenstein
  • Lithuania
  • Malta
  • Monaco
  • Morocco
  • Netherlands
  • New Zealand
  • Norway
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Romania
  • Rwanda
  • San Marino
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • South Korea
  • Spain
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland
  • Thailand
  • Tunisia
  • United Kingdom
  • Uruguay
  • Vatican City

Note: Montenegro and Serbia were on the original list of July 1, but are no longer allowed to enter Luxembourg from July 17 2020. China is also only permitted on subject of reciprocity.

luxembourg opens borders

Will I have to bring a test, be tested on arrival, or quarantine in Luxembourg?

No. If you are a resident of one of the above countries and symptom free, there are no such restrictions for Luxembourg at this time. 

Is entry into Luxembourg based on nationality, residency, or location for the past 14 days?

Residency + Location.

In order to enter Luxembourg with no quarantine or no tests, passengers need to be coming from one of the above countries, have been there the last 14 days, and be a permanent resident of one of the above countries.

The government site states: “Travellers from the third-party countries outside the EU listed above will need official documents proving their residence in one of these countries (residence permit, residence certificate, work permit, etc.). These documents must be accompanied by a translation into one of the administrative languages of Luxembourg or into English.”

Countries Allowed To Travel To Luxembourg

When will Luxembourg reopen to more countries?

The current travel ban for entering Luxembourg, not including the countries listed above, has been extended until September 15, 2020.  No other third-party countries are expected to be permitted entry until at least that date.


Have flights resumed into Luxembourg?

Yes. The airport is open and flying directly to dozens of European cities daily. Considering how small Luxembourg is, they do offer an impressive amount of flights.

Airlines that offer the most direct destinations include: Luxair, Ryanair, and EasyJet.


The entire country of Luxembourg only has a population of around 618,000 but sees over 1.2 million tourists a year. Due to its small size, Luxembourg is very easy to drive across in order to explore castles, churches, and lots of stunning nature.  It is landlocked, sharing borders with France, Germany and Belgium.

Disclaimer: Luxembourg’s reopening news is ever-changing and being updated constantly. We do our best to keep this article up to date with all the latest information, but the decision to travel is ultimately your responsibility. Contact your consulate and/or local authorities to confirm your nationality’s entry and/or any changes to travel requirements before traveling.

For the latest re-opening Travel News and discussions, join our: Facebook Community

Spread the love
  • 1