Skip to Content

EU Officially Publishes Reopening List: Countries Allowed

Share The Article

Last Updated

The EU has officially published the list of countries that will be allowed to travel to the European Union for the purpose of tourism starting on July 1st, 2020.

Europen Union flag with blue sky behind

The Official EU Approved Country List 

The European council officially published the approved country list in a press release on June 30th, 2020. 

Based on the criteria and conditions set out, starting tomorrow, member states should start lifting the travel restrictions at the external borders for residents of the following third countries:

  • Australia
  • Canada
  • Georgia
  • Japan
  • New Zealand
  • Rwanda
  • South Korea
  • Tunisia
  • Thailand
  • Uruguay
  • China, subject to confirmation of reciprocity

There are important restrictions to the above list that you'll need to know. 

Channel in venice with boats

Everything You Need To Know About The Official EU Approved Country List

Residents of Andorra, Monaco, San Marino and the Vatican should will considered as EU residents.

According to the readout, regarding the epidemiological situation, the countries on the list should meet the following criteria:

  • Number of new Covid-19 cases over the last 14 days and per 100,000 inhabitants close to or below the EU average (as it stood on June 15)
  • Stable or decreasing trend of new cases over this period in comparison to the previous 14 days
  • The countries' overall response to Covid-19 taking into account available information, including on aspects such as testing, surveillance, contact tracing, containment, treatment and reporting, as well as the reliability of the information and, if needed, the total average score for International Health Regulations (IHR). Information provided by EU delegations on these aspects should also be taken into account.
European union flag

Reciprocity should also be taken into account regularly and on a case-by-case basis.

For countries where travel restrictions continue to apply, the following categories of people should be exempted from the restrictions:

  • EU citizens and their family members
  • long-term EU residents and their family members
  • travellers with an essential function or need, as listed in the Recommendation.

Schengen associated countries (Iceland, Lichtenstein, Norway, Switzerland) also take part in this recommendation.

Italy Has Reopened To Tourists From 26 Countries With No Restrictions

This list of third countries should be reviewed every two weeks and may be updated by the Council, as the case may be, after close consultations with the Commission and the relevant EU agencies and services following an overall assessment based on the criteria above.

Streets of Madrid Spain

Important Notes on the Reopening

Travel restrictions may be totally or partially lifted or reintroduced for a specific third country already listed according to changes in some of the conditions and, as a consequence, in the assessment of the epidemiological situation. If the situation in a listed third country worsens quickly, rapid decision-making should be applied.

Nice France Beach Packed with tourists

I'm From One Of The Countries Above, Can I go to the EU?

The Council recommendation is not a legally binding instrument. The authorities of the member states remain responsible for implementing the content of the recommendation. They may, in full transparency, lift only progressively travel restrictions towards countries listed.

What this means: The press release made by the EU is only a recommendation. Each country will still make their own travel restrictions based on the recommendation. 

As of July 1st, this does not mean you can enter any EU country with no restrictions. Each country in the EU will clarify entry requirements. 

eiffel tower in france (1)

See ALL the countries reopening for tourism including those with restrictions.

See countries reopening for American Tourists

See countries reopening for Canadian Tourists

For the latest travel reopenings and questions join our: Facebook Community

Travel off Path group


Sunday 11th of October 2020

Thanks so much for your help! I’ll try calling the consulate for an exception.


Saturday 10th of October 2020

thank you. I wouldn't want to go round their decision too. i was hoping i could get to know if anyone has similar situation and make a suggestion as i wouldn't like to be turned back at the border. i have sent a message to the border control via email but no response. if I can get a response from the border control granting me exception to enter through another country; as i don't want to show up without the permission.


Saturday 10th of October 2020

Hello Kashlee! I’m a Mexican wanting to travel to Greece. Is there an option for me? Like traveling somewhere first where from there I am able to? My fiancé is a Greek seaman and he has his mom delicate but haven’t been able to know if I can travel!

Kashlee Kucheran

Sunday 11th of October 2020

Hi Alex, Right now Mexican residents are not permitted into Greece, and there is no 100% 'for sure' government document that states if you spend 14 days in a safe country first, if that will change the rules. It would be best to contact either Greek border police or the consulate and see if you can spend 14 days first in another nation, or get a eception for reuniting with your fiance


Friday 9th of October 2020


I am Nigerian. i know we are still banned and we are reciprocating. now, How can I enter Greece for a medical attention. i have a pending medical checkup which is due and it is important i go as soon as possible. Greek embassy in my country has refused to give me visa until the restriction is lifted. what i am thinking is that if i enter through another Shenghen country that have not banned us; i am worried that i might be turned back at Greece border. please, do you have a suggestion? it is important that i get to Greece. My doctors are worried also.

thank you.

Kashlee Kucheran

Friday 9th of October 2020

Sorry, but if the Greek embassy is denying you entry, I wouldn't try and go around their official decision. We don't have any advice, unfortunately, since the consulates and embassies are the authority on this. You will have to keep applying or contacting local authorities in Greece.


Thursday 24th of September 2020

Hi, my daughter is a Malaysian student studying in UK and has biometric resident pass for students. Will she be allowed to enter EU? Thanks.

Kashlee Kucheran

Friday 25th of September 2020

Each EU country will have different rules. It would be best to pick a country and then research it one-by-one