Skip to Content

EU Tourism Reopening: Approved Country List

Share The Article

Last Updated

BREAKING NEWS: The EU has published the official list in a press release. Click here for the allowed countries

The EU will be reopening their borders for tourism to 14 countries according to BBC. 

The list is tentative and has not yet been finalized by the European Union but is expected to be announced Tuesday June 30th. 

European union flag

Approved Countries That Are Allowed To Enter The EU For Tourism

This list will be updated in real time as the EU announces the approved country list that will be allowed to enter the European Union for the purpose of tourism. 

    • Australia
    • Canada
    • Georgia
    • Japan
    • New Zealand
    • Rwanda
    • South Korea
    • Tunisia
    • Thailand
    • Uruguay
    • China, subject to confirmation of reciprocity

The United States will not be allowed to enter the EU for tourism. 

When the list is made official, it's still expected to be examined and reviewed on a bi-weekly basis.

The United Kingdom does not show on the draft list because it is considered as in transition and is expected to be considered part of the EU.

Europen Union flag with blue sky behind

When Will the EU Reopen to the Approved Country List?

While no date has been officially announced, restrictions are expected to be gradually lifted beginning on July 1st, 2020. 

Channel in venice with boats

What is Causing the Delay of the EU Announcing the Allowed Countries?

The EU cannot agree on a list of “safe countries” from where travellers could visit Europe in July, with some member states requiring more time to decide, diplomats said Saturday (27 June).

After days of talks, EU envoys on Friday agreed to propose a list of 14 countries to their national governments, with the United States, where the coronavirus is still spreading, to remain excluded.

“There are still ongoing consultations, which will continue until Monday,” an EU source told AFP.

eiffel tower in france (1)

Talks dragged on with some EU members wanting to limit the reopening to countries with an epidemiological situation “comparable or better” than that in the bloc – that is with 16 or fewer cases of COVID-19 per 100,000 inhabitants over the past two weeks.

Under that criteria, travellers from the United States, Brazil and Canada would remain banned.

However, the health-based criteria has collided with geopolitics, with some countries reluctant to collectively ban the US while welcoming visitors from China, where the pandemic began.

Italy Has Reopened To Tourists From 26 Countries With No Restrictions

The EU closed its borders on March 16 for 30 days to contain the spread of COVID-19, a move that has been extended on several occasions. 

Border control lies in the hands of national governments, but the EU wants to coordinate the reopening with non-EU states to avoid the chaos that occurred at the start of the pandemic when each State unilaterally closed its borders. The bloc started reopening internal borders on June 15.

Nice France Beach Packed with tourists

Europe has managed to flatten the coronavirus curve and the bloc is being cautious to avoid taking on arrivals that could jeopardize this.

In 2016, the EU received 500 million visitors from non-member states (most of them visited the south of the continent) who spent $485 billion, making it the top global tourist destination, according to the World Tourism Organization.

Cafe in france reopened

Important Note: Reopening News is constantly changing. The decision to travel is ultimately your responsibility. Contact your consulate and/or local authorities to confirm your nationality’s entry requirements before traveling. This article does not guarantee the list of countries, as the information comes from a draft document and not an official government announcement. 

For the latest travel reopenings and questions, join our Facebook Community

Anna Repkina van Veelen

Wednesday 15th of July 2020

I am sorry. I have a question. I am married with Dutch citizen more than 14 years. But i am not the resident of the Netherlands. Can i enter the country to visit my family!? Best wishes, Anya

Kashlee Kucheran

Wednesday 15th of July 2020

You have not mentioned where you are coming from? If you are traveling with your spouse, they may make an exception, but that is very hard for me to determine. It would be best to contact the Dutch consulate to check

Miguel Sousa

Monday 29th of June 2020

My Fiancee is American, I´m Portuguese, we have the Marriage schedule for July. Love is not Tourism. She cannot come with the declaration of the appointment of Marriage, and the test made, to come to Portugal, or to Azores?

Kashlee Kucheran

Monday 29th of June 2020

Hi Miguel. We are only reporting on tourism news. I would suggest she contacts the American embassy in Portugal and gets more clarification from them.

Stacey Fry

Monday 29th of June 2020

Cannot wait til this wonderful information is confirmed!! Thank you for all the updates!


Monday 29th of June 2020

Does anybody know if this is based on nationality vs residency? Will the entry of an American citizen who's been living in Korea as a long term resident and flying from there to the EU be granted?

Kashlee Kucheran

Monday 29th of June 2020

It should be based on where the traveler has physically been, but when the formal press release comes out we should know for sure


Monday 29th of June 2020

Does anyone know if there would be a requirement to show a negative covid test? I would be coming from Canada

Kashlee Kucheran

Monday 29th of June 2020

We don't have the potential testing details yet, but we should soon!