Skip to Content

Leaked Document Lists Countries Expected To Be Allowed Into The EU on July 1

Share The Article

Last Updated

BREAKING NEWS: The EU has published the official list in a press release. Click here for the allowed countries

Original Article: 

Whispers and rumors have been circulating the web this week about the EU meeting to discuss if they will open their borders to third-party countries on July 1st, and if so, to which countries.

A leaked draft document has been released exposing which countries may have made the list. (Country list below ↓)

Many outlets like the NY Times have been reporting on the speculation that the USA might not be included in the EU’s new ‘approved’ country list and might stay on the current travel ban list.

travel masks

A leaked draft of the list of possible countries was posted today by Euronews first stating:

“Euronews has obtained, from EU diplomatic sources, the full draft list of the countries for which Europe's borders will be open, and can confirm what we reported on Wednesday that Brazil, Qatar, the US and Russia are indeed not on the approved list.”

EU reopening to third party countries

If this news turns out to be identical in the upcoming official release of the documents, this comes as a major blow to the United States.

The EU diplomatic source also told Euronews that the July 1st date may not in fact be the official date in which these new rules come into play.

Euronews also provided a list of the countries included on the alleged ‘approved’ country list for travel into EU countries.

The nations included on the draft are as follows:

  • Australia
  • Canada
  • Georgia
  • Japan
  • New Zealand
  • Rwanda
  • South Korea
  • Tunisia
  • Thailand
  • Uruguay
  • China, subject to confirmation of reciprocity
UK traveler

If this list is made official, it is still expected to be examined and reviewed on a bi-weekly basis.

The United Kingdom does not show on the draft list because it is considered as in transition and is expected to be considered part of the EU.

Tourists wearing masks

On March 11th, the Trump administration banned all travel from Europe.

He blamed the European Union for not acting quickly enough to address the outbreak of the virus and said US clusters were “seeded” by European travellers.

Mr Trump said: “We made a lifesaving move with early action on China. Now we must take the same action with Europe.”

trump banned europe in press conference back in march

This story is still breaking with more news to follow.

Disclaimer: The EU’s reopening news is ever-changing and being updated constantly. We do our best to keep this article up to date with all the latest information, but the decision to travel is ultimately your responsibility. Contact your consulate and/or local authorities to confirm your nationality’s entry and/or any changes to travel requirements before traveling. This article does not guarantee the list of countries, as the information comes from a draft document and not an official government announcement. 

See the complete list of countries reopening for tourism

See which countries are accepting American tourists

For the latest travel reopening news and discussion join our: Facebook Community

khan faisal

Tuesday 11th of August 2020

if any one wants travel from Pakistan to italy for tourism ???

Kashlee Kucheran

Wednesday 12th of August 2020

Hello - At this time travelers from Pakistan are not permitted to travel to Italy

Katushabe Jacky

Friday 3rd of July 2020

Hi,am from uganda and l was supposed to travel to poland on 4th april with D visa with a work permit, am l eligible to travel to poland if uganda open the airports to commercial flights. Thanks

Kashlee Kucheran

Friday 3rd of July 2020

I'm sorry, I don;t know anything about work visas/permits

Shabbir Ashraf Jattkom

Saturday 27th of June 2020

What about if any one wants travel from Pakistan to garmany

Kashlee Kucheran

Saturday 27th of June 2020

Hello! As of right now, Pakistan is not permitted to visit Germany. Germany is currently only open to other EU countries, and may expand that on July 1st, but not to Pakistan yet


Saturday 27th of June 2020

New info unfortunately shows that this list will be reduced to approx 18 countries... to be confirmed very soon


Saturday 27th of June 2020

So I love in germany as a non eu citizens here and have been here since 2017 and havent been to the states simce, should i be good to travel July 1st as well??

Kashlee Kucheran

Saturday 27th of June 2020

Hi Brandon. Yes, I do believe that the EU will treat it as where you have BEEN the last 14 days. But that will be clarified when they release their formal announcement.