This post may have affiliate links, which means we may receive a small commission (at no extra cost to you!) if you choose to purchase through them. Here's our Disclosure & Privacy Policy for more info.
Spread the love

Last Updated

Slovenia has reopened its borders for international tourism, first by allowing select EU nations to visit in June, and further third-party countries to start visiting in July.  

Slovenia is a beautiful country filled with natural wonders located in central Europe bordering Italy, Croatia, Hungary and Austria. It does have a small coastline Adriatic sea, as well as many lakes and mountains, making it perfect for travelers who want the best of both worlds.

who can travel to sloevnia

As of July 17, 2020, Slovenia has developed a ‘traffic light’ color-coded system that divides countries into different entry requirements based on risk. Below we have each entry requirement explained, a full list of countries that can now visit, plus everything else you need to know about Slovenia reopening for tourism.

countries allowed to travel to slovenia

Which countries are allowed to travel to Slovenia?

Slovenia has divided countries into 3 categories: RED, YELLOW and GREEN

GREEN: Tourists from countries on the green list can enter Slovenia with no tests and no quarantines.

YELLOW: Slovenian nationals returning to Slovenia from a country on the yellow list can enter with no quarantine.
Tourists arriving from a country on the yellow list can enter Slovenia only with a 10-day quarantine. (some exceptions apply, more info below)

RED: All arrivals (both tourist and nationals) coming from a country on the red list must complete a 14-day quarantine upon entering Slovenia. (some exceptions apply, more info below)

Countries on the Green List

(as of Sept 28, 2020)

EU or Schengen Member States :

1. Cyprus

2. Finland

3. Latvia

4. Liechtenstein

5. Lithuania

6. Poland

Third countries:

7. Australia

8. South Korea

9. New Zealand

10. Serbia

11. Uruguay

slovenia reopening

Countries on the RED list

(as of September 28, 2020)

EU or Schengen Member States :

  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • Bulgaria
  • Croatia
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • France
  • Hungary
  • Ireland
  • Luxembourg
  • The Netherlands
  • Portugal
  • Romania
  • Spain
  • Switzerland
  • United Kingdom
  • British Overseas Territory Gibraltar


Third countries:

  • Afghanistan
  • Albania
  • Algeria
  • Andorra
  • Angola
  • Argentina
  • Armenia
  • Azerbaijan
  • Bahamas
  • Bahrain
  • Bangladesh
  • Belize
  • Belarus
  • Benin
  • Bolivia
  • Bosnia and Herzegovina
  • Brazil
  • Burkina Faso
  • Burundi
  • Bhutan
  • Chad
  • Chile
  • Montenegro
  • Dominican Republic
  • Egypt
  • Ecuador
  • Equatorial Guinea
  • Eritrea
  • Esvatini
  • Ethiopia
  • Philippines
  • Gabon
  • Gambia
  • Win
  • Guyana
  • Guatemala
  • Guinea
  • Guinea-Bissau
  • Haiti
  • Honduras
  • India
  • Indonesia
  • Iraq
  • Iran
  • Israel
  • ​​Jamaica
  • Yemen
  • South Africa
  • South Sudan
  • Cameroon
  • Qatar
  • Kazakhstan
  • Kenya
  • Kyrgyz Republic
  • Colombia
  • Comoros
  • Congo
  • Congo
  • Kosovo
  • Costa Rica
  • Kuwait
  • Lesotho
  • Lebanon
  • Liberia
  • Libya
  • Madagascar
  • Malawi
  • Maldives
  • Mali
  • Morocco
  • Mauritania
  • Mexico
  • Moldova
  • Mongolia
  • Mozambique
  • Namibia
  • Nepal
  • Niger
  • Nigeria
  • Nicaragua
  • Oman
  • Pakistan
  • Panama
  • Papua New Guinea
  • Paraguay
  • Peru
  • Russia
  • Salvador
  • Sao Tome in Principe
  • Saudi Arabia
  • Senegal
  • North Korea
  • Northern Macedonia
  • Sierra Leone
  • Syria
  • Ivory Coast
  • Somalia
  • Central African Republic
  • Suriname
  • Tajikistan
  • Tanzania
  • Togo
  • Trinidad in Tobago
  • Turkey
  • Turkmenistan
  • Ukraine
  • Uzbekistan
  • Venezuela
  • East Timor
  • Zambia
  • United States of America
  • United Arab Emirates
  • Cape Verde
  • Zimbabwe


IMPORTANT RED LIST UPDATE-  OCTOBER 7: Due to a sudden rise in cases, the government of Slovenia is restricting all RED countries to essential travelers only. Tourism is currently not a valid reason for travel when coming from a red country.

Countries on the YELLOW list

All countries that are not on the green and red lists are on the yellow lists.

slovenia open for tourism

Is entry into Slovenia based on physical location for the last 14-days, residency or nationality?

Both residency and location. For example, countries on the green list should be a permanent resident of one of those countries and also be arriving into Slovenia from one of those countries.

Does Slovenia have mandatory tests on arrival?

No. At this time there are no mandatory tests to bring, nor on arrival.

Passengers should expect a health screening from a border officer, as well as agree to temperature scans. Entry will be refused to tourists who show any symptoms.

slovenia reopening

Exceptions for travelers from yellow and red countries.

Slovenia is making some exceptions to the 14-day quarantine that is required for travelers coming from the yellow and red country lists.

Most of the exceptions are focused on essential workers, family reunification, funerals, medical reasons, students, etc, and they allow the 14-day isolation to be circumvented with a negative PCR test no older than 36 hours. A full list of who is included in the exceptions can be found HERE.

slovenia reopen

Can I transit through Slovenia on my way to another country?

Yes. Transit through Slovenia on the way to another country is allowed within 12 hours from entering.

In addition to general conditions, which must be met to enter Slovenia, passengers are required to transit Slovenia within 12 hours from entering.

Persons entering Slovenia in transit must have with them:

  • Valid travel document (including a visa or a residence permit when required)
  • A document on the purpose and destination of transit (as of 14 July 2020 this document is not required for travellers with a permanent or temporary residence in EU member states)

Entry to Slovenia shall be denied to persons for whom it is foreseen that they may not be able to exit Slovenia due to measures in neighbouring countries.

Are Slovenia's land borders open?

Yes, land borders between Slovenia and Italy, Hungary, Austria and Croatia are open.

Have Flights Resumed to Slovenia?

Ljubljana is the largest airport in Slovenia. Flights to and from countless cities in the EU have already resumed.

Major airports that fly direct to/from Ljubljana include: Belgrade, Podgorica, Istanbul, Frankfurt. Paris, Warsaw, Moscow, Amsterdam, Brussels, Berlin, and Nis

Disclaimer: Slovenia’s reopening news is ever-changing and being updated constantly. We do our best to keep this article up to date with all the latest information, but the decision to travel is ultimately your responsibility. Contact your consulate and/or local authorities to confirm your nationality’s entry and/or any changes to travel requirements before traveling.

For the latest re-opening Travel News and discussions, join ourFacebook Community

Article originally published July 19, 2020

Spread the love
  • 13
%d bloggers like this: