Skip to Content

US State Travel Restrictions: Self Isolation or Negative Test Required

Share The Article

Last Updated

With the reopening of the US economy, many states still have strict 14 day quarantine measures or covid-19 negative test requirements. 

Going on vacation this summer might prove a little more difficult then just hopping in your car or heading to the airport. Make sure you know all the travel restrictions of the states you are traveling to before departing.

Restrictions can change without notice so be sure to also check government websites before traveling. 

usa road trip

States With Travel Restrictions That Require 14 Day Quarantine or a Negative Covid-19 Test


Alaska Gov. Mike Dunleavy and the state's Department of Health and Social Services lifted state's mandatory 14-day quarantine for travelers. Both interstate and international travelers can come to Alaska as long as they provide a negative PCR test taken within 72 hours to five days before they leave their destination.

alaska (2)


Effective June 25, the state will require a 14-day quarantine for any visitor or resident returning from a region with a transmission rate of 10 positive tests for every 100,000 residents on a seven-day rolling average. As of June 24, the quarantine rule would affect anyone coming from Alabama, Arkansas, Arizona, Florida, North Carolina, South Carolina, Washington Utah and Texas. 


Effective June 5, Florida Gov. Ron DeSantis extended its 14-day quarantine rule for visitors from New York, New Jersey and Connecticut. The order does not apply to anyone participating in commercial or academic activities, including athletes returning to college campuses. 

Florida road


On June 24, Gov. David Ige announced that beginning Aug. 1, out-of-state visitors may present a negative PCR test for COVID-19 from any testing location approved by the Hawaii State Department of Health upon their arrival. Without a negative test, visitors must undergo a 14-day quarantine. (No testing will be provided at the airport.)  

Tourist on Hammock in Hawaii


Effective Monday, July 6, the city of Chicago is requiring visitors from the following states to quarantine for 14 days upon arrival: Alabama, Arkansas, Arizona, California, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Louisiana, Mississippi, North Carolina, Nevada, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas and Utah.


The state requires a 14-day quarantine for Kansans returning from these states:

  • Alabama (on or after June 17)
  • Arizona (on or after June 17)
  • Arkansas (on or after June 17)
  • South Carolina (on or after June 29)
  • Florida (on or after June 29)

People must also quarantine for 14 days if they traveled out of the country on or after March 15 or went on a cruise ship or river cruise on or after March 15. 


Maine's Department of Health and Human Services requires travelers to the state to self-quarantine for 14 days, regardless of their state of residence unless they can present a negative PCR test no older than 72 hours. Residents of New Hampshire and Vermont are exempt. 


Anyone traveling to the state must self-quarantine for 14 days except for those traveling from Rhode Island, Connecticut, Vermont, New Hampshire, Maine, New York, and New Jersey, as of July 1. Massachusetts exempts essential workers as well, if they are visiting the state in a work capacity.

New Mexico

Effective July 1, New Mexico is enforcing mandatory self-quarantine for all out-of-state travelers to New Mexico, whether by air or vehicle. The mandatory self-quarantine is to last 14 days or the length of stay in New Mexico, whichever is shorter. 

new mexico

New Jersey

Along with his counterparts in Connecticut and New York, Gov. Phil Murphy announced a joint travel advisory which says that effective Thursday, June 25, visitors or residents returning from a high-transmission state must quarantine for 14 days. Currently, that would affect anyone coming from Alabama, Arkansas, Arizona, Florida, North Carolina, South Carolina, Washington Utah and Texas.

New York

New York is requiring visitors and residents returning from from out of state to quarantine for 14 days effective Thursday, June 25. As of late June, the rule would apply to anyone coming from Alabama, Arkansas, Arizona, Florida, North Carolina, South Carolina, Washington Utah and Texas.

new york


People arriving on flights from the New York tri-state area (New York, New Jersey and Connecticut), Washington state, California or Louisiana must quarantine for 14 days.

Rhode Island

You must self-quarantine for 14 days or provide a negative COVID-19 test within 72 hours of arriving in Rhode Island if coming from certain states with a COVID-19 positivity rate higher than 5% (check here for the up-to-date list). You can leave quarantine if you receive a negative test result once in the state.


Effective June 15, “Visitors and travelers coming to Vermont by plane, bus or train ─ or those who make stops in a personal vehicle ─ must quarantine for 14 days when they arrive,”  the state health department said.

Visitors may either:

  • Traveling by car: Quarantine in their home state for 14 days before traveling in their personal vehicle and making no stops.
  • Traveling using commercial transportation or driving with stops: Quarantine for 14 days at a lodging facility in Vermont 
us flag over street in the united states

US states that recommend travelers self quarantine for 14 days when arriving from high risk covid-19 area, cruise ships and international travel. 


West Virginia 



South Carolina


New Hampshire




Disclaimer:  U.S Reopening news can change without notice. We do our best to keep this article up to date with all the latest information, but the decision to travel is ultimately your responsibility. Contact local authorities to confirm entry requirements before traveling. 

For the latest Travel Reopenings & Questions, Join Our: Facebook Community