This post may have affiliate links, which means we may receive a small commission (at no extra cost to you!) if you choose to purchase through them. Here's our Disclosure & Privacy Policy for more info.
Spread the love

Last Updated

Lithuania lifted their 3-month long quarantine on June 16 and has been slowly reopening the country for tourism. Throughout the summer more EU nations and a few selected third-party nations are allowed to enter without restrictions.

Now in the fall of 2020, tightening restrictions are happening due to a surge of cases across Europe.

Up until the pandemic, Lithuania had been seeing a year after year increase of tourist arrivals, with over 3.5 million people visiting in 2019.  

lithuania reopening

Below we have a full list of all countries that can visit, along with all entry requirements, rules for visiting, and everything else you need to know about Lithuania reopening.

lithuania reopening

Countries Allowed to Travel to Lithuania

Currently, only EU nations and select third-party countries with an infection rate lower than 16 cases per 100,000 in population over the last 14 days can enter Lithuania without testing and/or quarantine.

lithuania opens borders

Countries than can enter without 14-day quarantine:

(as of Dec 30)

  • Estonia
  • Finland
  • Japan
  • Latvia
  • New Zealand
  • Norway
  • Rwanda
  • Serbia
  • South Korea
  • Thailand
  • Uruguay

WITH 14-day quarantine or PCR test to end quarantine early:

(as of Dec 30)

  • Andorra
  • Australia
  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • Bulgaria
  • Croatia
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • Hungary
  • Germany
  • Greece
  • France
  • Liechtenstein
  • Iceland
  • Ireland
  • Italy
  • Malta
  • Netherlands
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Romania
  • Spain
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland
  • United Kingdom

PCR testing required:

Foreigners arriving from the countries on the list of countries affected by coronavirus infection with the incidence rate above 25 cases over the last 14 days, must have a test for COVID-19 (coronavirus infection) taken at maximum 48 hours before the entry to Lithuania and negative results thereof.

Nations requiring tests:

Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Czechia, Denmark, Greece, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Portugal, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Romania, Spain and Sweden, United Kingdom

These EU nations were previously on the 14-day quarantine list but have now been moved to the ‘PCR test required’ list due to high case numbers.

This list is expected to be monitored and reviewed weekly.

lithuania reopening tourism

The Ministry of Health has also made a list of over 80+ countries that Lithuanian residents and citizens must complete a 14-day quarantine if they are returning home from one of these said countries. The list full list is available here and updated frequently.

Entry Requirements For Lithuania

All approved EU nations and approved third-party countries (as listed above) entering Lithuania must also:

Rules for Visiting Lithuania

  • As of August 1, masks are mandatory in all enclosed public spaces like public transit, in shops, airports, supermarkets, etc.
  • Social distancing is in full effect
  • Limit of 200 people on indoor gatherings
  • Temporary internal border control and checks for persons entering and leaving the Republic of Lithuania at the internal border of the European Union have been extended from 17 June 2020 to 15 August 2020

Have Flights Resumed to Lithuania?

Yes. Currently all air arrivals must enter into Vilnius, Kaunas or Palanga airport.

Vilnius airport is the largest airport and has the most direct flights. Travelers can easily fly directly into Vilnius from almost any major European city. RyanAir, WizzAir and Baltic Air offer the most flights.


Can I Transit Through Lithuania?

The Ministry of Foreign Affairs states:

 Transit through the territory of the Republic of Lithuania is allowed for foreigners in these cases:

  • on their return to their country of residence;
  • in whose respect a reasoned request has been made by a foreign country;
  • seafarers;
  • using facilitated transit of persons from the territory of the Russian Federation to Kaliningrad region of the Russian Federation and backwards (this transit of persons shall be carried out only through Kena railway border checkpoint and Kybartai railway border checkpoint under the conditions laid down by the Minister for Foreign affairs of the Republic of Lithuania).
Lithuania Reopening For Tourism – Everything You Need To Know

Disclaimer: Lithuania’s reopening news is ever-changing and being updated constantly. We do our best to keep this article up to date with all the latest information, but the decision to travel is ultimately your responsibility. Contact your consulate and/or local authorities to confirm your nationality’s entry and/or any changes to travel requirements before traveling.

For the latest Reopening Travel News and Discussions, join our: Facebook Community

Spread the love
  • 2
%d bloggers like this: