Skip to Content

U.S. Issues New Level 4 ‘Do Not Travel’ Warning For Italy And 2 Other Nations

Share The Article

Last Updated

The CDC has updated its travel advice and added 3 nations to its highest risk category including Italy.

Typically, the CDC places nations on the level 4 high-risk category if they’ve had 500 cases per 100,000 residents in the past 28 days. Last week, the CDC moved France, Portugal, and five other nations to its level 4 high-risk category. 

Couple together in rome during the covid19

The New Changes

The CDC has added the following nations to the level 4 high-risk category:

Here are the newest additions to the level 4 travel warning. Later in the article is the full list of nations that have been issued the level 4 warning.

  • Italy 
  • Greenland 
  • Mauritius 
CDC Headquarters Sign - Atlanta GA

Italy currently has a 7-day case average of 17,092. That’s a significant jump from the 7-day case average of 2,500 in October. Greenland only has a 7-day case average of 36, but it does have a very small population. Mauritius has a 7-day case average of 71, but again, it has a relatively small population. 

These 3 nations have all moved up from level 3.

Nations On The Level 4 List

They will join the following nations who were already on the CDC’s level four high-risk list:

  • Albania
  • Andorra
  • Antigua and Barbuda
  • Armenia
  • Austria
  • Azerbaijan
  • Barbados
  • Belarus
  • Belgium
  • Belize
  • Bosnia and Herzegovina
  • Botswana
  • Brunei
  • Bulgaria
  • Burkina Faso
  • Burma (Myanmar)
  • Cayman Islands
  • The Central African Republic
  • Croatia
  • Cyprus
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • Dominica
  • Estonia
  • Eswatini
  • Faroe Islands
  • France
  • French Guiana
  • Georgia
  • Germany
  • Greece
  • Greenland
  • Guernsey
  • Haiti
  • Hungary
  • Iceland
  • Iraq
  • Ireland
  • Isle of Man
  • Italy
  • Jersey (part of the UK)
  • Jordan
  • Latvia
  • Lesotho
  • Liechtenstein
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Malawi
  • Maldives
  • Martinique
  • Mauritius
  • Moldova
  • Mongolia
  • Montenegro
  • Mozambique
  • Namibia
  • New Caledonia
  • The Netherlands
  • Niger
  • North Macedonia
  • Norway
  • Papua New Guinea
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Réunion
  • Romania
  • Russia
  • Saint Vincent and the Grenadines
  • Saudi Arabia
  • Serbia
  • Seychelles
  • Singapore
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Somalia
  • South Africa
  • South Sudan
  • Suriname
  • Switzerland
  • Trinidad and Tobago
  • Turkey
  • Ukraine
  • United Kingdom
  • Zimbabwe

Although most U.S tourists were unlikely to visit Greenland or Mauritius for a vacation in the current times, Italy remains a popular European destination for many U.S citizens. 

The CDC recommends against non-essential travel to these nations because of the high risk of catching COVID-19. However, they state travelers should be fully vaccinated if they visit these destinations. 

The CDC currently categorizes travelers into four levels:

  • Level 4: COVID-19 Very High
  • Level 3: COVID-19 High 
  • Level 2: COVID-19 Moderate 
  • Level 1: COVID-19 Low

Level 4 is the worst risk followed by level 3. The CDC recommends travelers are fully vaccinated if they’re visiting a level 3 high-risk destination also.


Nations On The Level 3 List 

The following nations are on the ‘level 3: COVID-19 High’ list:

  • Angola
  • Anguilla
  • Aruba
  • Australia
  • The Bahamas
  • Bermuda
  • Bonaire
  • Bolivia
  • Brazil
  • Canada
  • Chile
  • Colombia
  • Costa Rica
  • Cuba
  • Curaçao
  • Dominican Republic
  • Easter Island
  • Ecuador
  • Egypt
  • El Salvador
  • Finland
  • French Polynesia
  • Gabon
  • Grenada
  • Guadeloupe
  • Guatemala
  • Guyana
  • Honduras
  • Iran
  • Israel
  • Laos
  • Lebanon
  • Libya
  • Malaysia
  • Malta
  • Mexico
  • Panama
  • Qatar
  • Saint Kitts and Nevis
  • Saint Lucia
  • Saint Martin
  • South Korea
  • Spain
  • Sri Lanka
  • Sweden
  • Thailand
  • Tunisia
  • Turks and Caicos Islands (U.K.)
  • Uruguay
  • Vietnam
The White House, USA

The U.S. State Department and the CDC now work together and issue the same level of Travel Advisory for each destination.

The U.S. State Department also has four levels

  • Level 4: Do Not Travel
  • Level 3: Reconsider Travel
  • Level 2: Exercise Increased Caution
  • Level 1: Exercise Normal Precautions
Dining in Italy during COVID

However, it’s not all bad news. The CDC has moved various countries down the list. Jamaica and the Philippines, two popular destinations with American tourists, moved down from level 3 to level 2. Malaysia moved down from level 4 to level 3 following decreasing cases. 

The CDC currently has Indonesia, Japan, India, the British Virgin Islands, the U.A.E, and Hong Kong on its ‘Level 1: COVID-19 Low’ list.

Read More:

Travel Insurance That Covers Covid-19 For 2021

Expect Crowds In Cancun This Winter As Occupancy Reaches 100 Percent

Delta’s New Rules Remove Perks From Basic Economy

↓ Elevate Your Travel↓

Sign Up Now For Travel Off Path Premium! No ads, VIP Content, Personal Travel Concierge, Huge Savings, Daily Deals, Members Forum & More!

✈️Join Our Travel Off Path Community Forum: Where travelers unite, ask questions, share experiences and even find like-minded travel buddies!


Enter your email address to subscribe to Travel Off Path's latest breaking travel news, straight to your inbox.

This article originally appeared on

Opinions expressed here are the author’s alone, not those of any bank, credit card issuer, hotel, airline, or other entity. This content has not been reviewed, approved or otherwise endorsed by any of the entities included within the post.