Skip to Content

U.S. COVID-19 Entry Requirements For Travelers

Share The Article

As the pandemic continues to impact the United States, there are new U.S. Covid entry requirements all travelers need to know.

This article will cover the new quarantine and Covid-19 testing requirements for entry in to the United States. 

Information in this article is based only on United States government sources in an easy to read and understand format. 

Disclaimer: Current U.S travel rules are changing without notice and being updated constantly. We do our best to keep this article up to date with all the latest information, but the decision to travel is ultimately your responsibility. Contact your consulate and/or local authorities to confirm your nationality’s entry and/or any changes to travel requirements before traveling.  Travel Off Path does not endorse traveling against government advisories

Hollywood sign in the USA

Are The U.S. Borders Open?

By Air: Yes, travelers can enter the United States by air with the exception of the EU, China, Brazil, UK, Ireland and Iran. 

By Land: No, the land borders with Mexico and Canada are closed to all non-essential traffic

By Sea: No, all cruise ships are currently banned from operating in U.S. waters

united airline

Does The U.S. Require Travelers To Have Negative Covid-19 Tests?

The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) recently announced the implementation of COVID-19 testing requirements for all international arrivals by air to the U.S. 

All travelers must have proof of a negative Covid antigen test no older than 72 hours before boarding their flight to the U.S. 

Hawaii city on beach

Are there Mandatory Quarantine Requirements When Traveling To The U.S.?

The following States have quarantine measures in place for arriving international travelers:

Guam: All incoming travelers, whether by land or sea, must undergo a mandatory 14-day quarantine at a government facility at their own expense.

Hawaii: All travelers must undergo a 14 day self quarantine unless they present proof of a negative Covid-19 PCR test result.

Alaska: Alaska no longer allows an option to quarantine and instead requires a negative Covid-19 PCR test result.

Kansas: Any travelers arriving from a level 3 CDC Travel health notice must self quarantine for 14 days.

Maine: All travelers arriving in Maine must self quarantine for 14 days.

Washington D.C.: Travelers arriving from ‘high risk' areas must self quarantine for 14 days. 

New Mexico: All out of state travelers arriving by air must self quarantine for 14 days.

New York: While it is unclear if the 14 day quarantine applies to international travelers, New York has a mandatory 14 day quarantine for visitors coming from high risk states.

New York now offers a test to release program which can see the length of quarantine shortened. 

North Dakota: Anyone arriving from out of country must quarantine immediately for 14 days.

Puerto Rico: All travelers will be required to quarantine for 14 days upon arrival if they do not present a negative molecular Covid-19 test.

Vermont: Anyone who wants to travel to Vermont will have to quarantine for 14 days when they arrive or a seven-day quarantine followed by taking a Covid-19 test.

Bear in Alaska

Regular PRE-COVID U.S. Entry Requirements

*Please note that these are the normal entry requirements for the United States before the Covid-19 pandemic. All information above regarding bans overrules the below information. 

Countries That Can Enter The United States Without Prior Approval or a Visa

  • Canada
  • Bermuda

Countries That Can Enter The United States With Online Approval By Electronic System for Travel Authorization (ESTA)

The following countries do not need a visa and only need to fill out the online ESTA (Visa Waiver Program). 

  • Andorra (Temporarily Banned)
  • Australia
  • Austria (Temporarily Banned)
  • Belgium (Temporarily Banned)
  • Brunei 
  • Chile 
  • Czech Republic (Temporarily Banned)
  • Denmark (Temporarily Banned)
  • Estonia (Temporarily Banned)
  • Finland (Temporarily Banned)
  • France (Temporarily Banned)
  • Germany (Temporarily Banned)
  • Greece (Temporarily Banned)
  • Hungary (Temporarily Banned)
  • Iceland (Temporarily Banned)
  • Ireland (Temporarily Banned)
  • Italy (Temporarily Banned)
  • Japan
  • Republic of Korea 
  • Latvia (Temporarily Banned)
  • Liechtenstein (Temporarily Banned)
  • Lithuania (Temporarily Banned)
  • Luxembourg (Temporarily Banned)
  • Malta (Temporarily Banned)
  • Monaco (Temporarily Banned)
  • Netherlands (Temporarily Banned)
  • New Zealand 
  • Norway (Temporarily Banned)
  • Portugal (Temporarily Banned)
  • San Marino  (Temporarily Banned)
  • Singapore 
  • Slovakia (Temporarily Banned)
  • Slovenia (Temporarily Banned)
  • Spain (Temporarily Banned)
  • Sweden (Temporarily Banned)
  • Switzerland (Temporarily Banned)
  • Taiwan 
  • United Kingdom (Temporarily Banned)

Once travel bans end for your region, you can access the ESTA Form here.

All other countries will have to contact the U.S. Embassy in their home country to apply for a visa before traveling to the United States.

All visa services for the United States that were temporarily suspended are beginning a phased reopening of services. As resources allow, embassies and consulates will continue to provide emergency and mission critical visa services and will resume routine visa services as local conditions and resources allow.

For Breaking Travel Reopening News & Questions, Join Our: Facebook Community

Christopher Bullock

Monday 13th of September 2021

I was due to visit new york in december, what are the chancesof the uk travel ban lifting before then.

Kashlee Kucheran

Monday 13th of September 2021

It's anyone's guess!


Wednesday 8th of September 2021

My boyfriend and I are travelling to Canada next month. We are both fully vaccinated and we both resides in New York, USA. What do we need to re-enter. We are travelling by air.

Kashlee Kucheran

Wednesday 8th of September 2021

A 3-day antigen test

Bruce Blackburn

Friday 13th of August 2021

I am currently trapped on a ship, having completed my contract onboard (in June), floating around the world trying to get off. My next Port of call is San Francisco. I am a New Zealand citizen with a valid passport and Covid jab. I have had about 13 tests for Covid in the past 3 months, all Negative. I wish to leave the ship in the USA and fly back to NZ, is this possible?

I have had Tele Linkups for medical (lower back injury) help and need a MRI as as possible in NZ and also dental help for a broken tooth. Bruce

Kashlee Kucheran

Saturday 14th of August 2021

I'm sorry Bruce, I really don't have enough info to suggest what can be done in your situation. I would contact the embassy or consulate to see for sure

Chris Markwood

Wednesday 28th of July 2021

I am a US citizen living in Canada and I am fully vaccinated. What do I need to cross the border by land, passport, proof of vaccinations, anything else?

Kashlee Kucheran

Wednesday 28th of July 2021

If you are a US citizen looking to return home by land from Canada, you will need a 72-hour antigen test. Proof of vax is currently not something the US requires for entry


Wednesday 28th of July 2021

i want to visit my son in Montreal and later my daughter in california. I have been fully vaccinated in Lagos, Nigeria. any special requirements again?