Skip to Content

Georgia Reopening For Tourism – Everything You Need To Know

This post may have affiliate links, which means we may receive a small commission (at no extra cost to you!) if you choose to purchase through them. Here's our Disclosure & Privacy Policy for more info.

Share The Article

Last Updated

Georgia is officially reopening its borders on July 31, 2020.

However, only 5 nations can currently visit Georgia with no restrictions. Some other nations are included in the official reopening announcement, but with additional entry requirements. 


This article was last updated September 2020 and since publishing, we have a more recent (and more frequently updated) guide for Georgia. Please go to “Georgia’s Covid-19 Entry Requirements” for the most up to date information, as this page will no longer be updated. 

Georgia has been a very indecisive nation when it comes to their reopening. 

Their first announcement came in June and stated they will be reopening to ALL nations starting on July 1st, but retracted the reopening details as the target date arrived. 

The government of Georgia then pushed the reopening date to July 31st, but offered no information on which nations might be included, or what entry requirements might be required. 

Tbilisi, Georgia at night aerial view

Now after a month of silence, they have finally released the nations allowed to visit, which are a sharp contrast to their original reopening plan. 

entry requirements georgia

Countries Allowed To Visit Georgia

Only five EU nations are currently allowed to visit Georgia as of July 31, restriction free:

  • Estonia
  • France
  • Germany
  • Latvia
  • Lithuania

Travelers must be a RESIDENT of one of these 5 nations, coming from one of these 5 nations, in order to gain restriction free entry into Georgia. 

Entry Requirements for the 5 Approved Nations:

  • Entry by air travel only
  • This form must be filled out prior to boarding that declares the health of the individual, location for the past 14 days, and information on where they will be staying in Georgia
  • Undergo a temperature scan upon arrival. (Any temps over 37°C will be given a PCR test)
Ushguli, Georgia

Other Countries Allowed To Travel To Georgia

Other than the 5 approved nations above, there is a secondary list of countries that can visit Georgia, but with a mandatory 14-day quarantine. 

Georgia has stated that ANY other EU nation that has included Georgia on it’s third-party ‘safe’ list, and is also granting Georgians entry at this time, will be given entry into Georgia with a 14-day quarantine. 

Hotel Aivani Old Tbilisi

Other EU nations that are currently allowing Georgia to travel, therefore Georgia will reciprocate with a 14-day quarantine:

Croatia, Cyprus, Georgia, Greece, Iceland, Italy, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovenia, Spain and Sweden

Since the third-party ‘safe’ nations as suggested by the EU is subject to change every two-weeks, and each EU nation is free to make its own decisions based on the suggestion, this list is very dynamic and can change constantly.

tourists in streets of Tbilisi, Georgia

Business Travel:

Georgia is also making some exceptions for business travelers, regardless of their origin, even if it’s a non-approved nation. Travelers into Georgia for business or investing will have to fill out a form and undergo a PCR test upon arrival. 

The current travel ban for all other nations visiting is in place until September 30, 2020. At that time it will either be extended, or a further list of approved nations will be added. 

Residents from countries like the USA and Canada are not welcome at this time.

The Biltmore Hotel Tbilisi Tbilisi City
The Biltmore Hotel Tbilisi Tbilisi City (

Georgia’s Digital Nomad / Remote Work Visa

As of August 27, Georgia is now accepting applications for its ‘Remotely In Georgia’ program that allows remote workers to live/work in Georgia for up to 1 year. 

They ARE accepting applicants from USA, Canada, UK, and other currently ‘banned’ nations, so it’s a great way for nomads to get around the current entry bans. 

According to, tourism is one of the driving sources of the Georgian economy and accounts for 11.5 per cent of the gross domestic product. Last year Georgia hosted 9.4 million visitors and employed 150,000 people in the field of tourism

Read More: See the full list of European countries reopen for tourism, and which companies offer travel insurance that covers covid

Disclaimer: Georgia’s reopening news is ever-changing and being updated constantly. We do our best to keep this article up to date with all the latest information, but the decision to travel is ultimately your responsibility. Contact your consulate and/or local authorities to confirm your nationality’s entry and/or any changes to travel requirements before traveling.

For the latest Reopening Travel News join our: Facebook Community

Dominican Republic Changes Entry Requirements Due To Surge in Cases
Dominican Republic Surge in Cases
One Of The First Cruise Ships Back At Sea Is In Isolation After Covid-19 Outbreak
One Of The First Cruise Ships Back At Sea Has Been Quarantined After Covid-19 Outbreak

Asif butt

Wednesday 27th of January 2021

Is it bars open in tbilisi or not

Ravi adhikari

Friday 11th of December 2020

Please let us know when UAE residents can travel to Tbilisi without quarantine since we are having covid 19 vaccines


Wednesday 25th of November 2020

Thanks for your detailed info. Please any idea when other countries like the Middle East (Saudi Arabia for example) wil be allowed to travel to Georgia

Kashlee Kucheran

Wednesday 25th of November 2020

No, they have not updated when they might change their entry rules

Richard Flores

Tuesday 27th of October 2020

Are there any news or updates on Georgia's borders re-opening after Nov. 1st?

I was hoping to fly next week, I'm Canadian currently traveling in Turkey, I found many flights to Tbilisi but not sure if it's a good idea to purchase anything.

Kashlee Kucheran

Tuesday 27th of October 2020

Hi Ricahrd! Seeing flights available for purchase doesn't mean open borders. Look at Canada for example: we have flights coming in every day from Asia, Europe, etc... but none of those countries can enter. ;)

We have not heard of Georgia relaxing border controls to any further nations at this time


Wednesday 14th of October 2020

Hey there, so planing to fly to Tbilisi end of october from Turkey as turkish citizens for business, I guess we need to fill the online form and get permission prior? We have invitation from our clients in Georgia for a installation job. we will be arriving with pcr test results no later than 72 hours. Kash Lee, Please let me know if this is ok or not?

Kashlee Kucheran

Wednesday 14th of October 2020

Yes, as Turkey is not one of the approved nations at this time, you will need permission to go. You should contact either border police, immigration, or the consulate