Skip to Content

Norway Bans All American Tourists

Share The Article

Last Updated

Following the European Unions Council recent recommendation to reimpose entry restrictions for Americans, several countries have decided to follow such advice.

Although Norway is outside of the EU, it has decided to ban travelers from the U.S. as well. This post will look at the new restrictions in Norway and recap the latest restrictions across Europe for Americans.

Norway Is The Latest European Country To Ban Americans

Norway Bans American Travelers

Norway’s Ministry of Health and Care Services has announced that it removed the United States from the epidemiologically safe third countries list, known as the purple list, due to the surge in Covid-19 infections driven by the Delta variant.

“Six countries have been removed from the list and will no longer be considered in relation to the list of purple countries. These are the countries Israel, Kosovo, Lebanon, Montenegro, Northern Macedonia, and the United States,” stressed the statement published by Norway’s Ministry of Health and Care Services.

Now, American travelers can only enter Norway if they can prove it's for family reasons.

traveler in norway

Recap Of EU Restrictions

Each member state can decide on its own whether they want to impose an entry ban on American travelers. Overall it's been a mixed reaction, with some countries banning U.S. travelers, some adding new restrictions, and others keeping entry requirements the same.

European Countries That Have Banned Americans

Bulgaria and Sweden have banned U.S. travelers regardless of vaccination status, but Sweden says they are considering making exemptions for vaccinated travelers.

Coastal Cottages in Swedens Westcoast

Denmark has banned unvaccinated U.S. travelers, but vaccinated Americans can still enter with a negative Covid-10 test.

The Netherlands has banned all unvaccinated US travelers from entering the country. Vaccinated US travelers can still enter the country, but they must quarantine for ten days. This can be reduced to five days with a negative Covid-19 test result.

Spain has banned unvaccinated Americans. However, fully vaccinated travelers from the U.S. can still enter the country with a negative Covid-19 test. Travelers must also fill out a health certificate before their trip.

Germany placed additional restrictions on US travelers ahead of the EU recommendation. They now require US travelers to be vaccinated or show through a PCR test that they had previously been infected and recovered or quarantine for at least 5 days on arrival.


Countries That Have Added Restrictions For Americans

Italy was the first country to reimpose restrictions on Americans. All travelers can still visit but with new restrictions. Fully vaccinated U.S. visitors must take a Covid-19 test 72 hours before entering the country, while unvaccinated visitors must self-isolate for 5 days after arrival.

Naples, Italy

EU Countries That Have Not Changed Entry Restrictions

Ireland and Croatia have both said that they will not change entry requirements for Americans and will stay open.

France, Portugal, and Greece have also not changed their entry rules for U.S. tourists.

portugal train

The EU recommendation has created a patchwork of entry requirements for American travelers that they will have to navigate if planning a multi-country trip to Europe.

Read More:

Travel Insurance That Covers Covid-19

Cuba Reopening For Tourism To U.S. Travelers Without Testing

Canada Is Now Officially Open To International Travelers

↓ Join Our Community ↓

The Travel Off Path Community FB group has all the latest travel news, conversations, and Q&A's happening daily! 


Enter your email address to subscribe to Travel Off Path's latest breaking travel news, straight to your inbox.

This article originally appeared on

Opinions expressed here are the author’s alone, not those of any bank, credit card issuer, hotel, airline, or other entity. This content has not been reviewed, approved or otherwise endorsed by any of the entities included within the post.