Skip to Content

U.S. State Department Lowers Travel Advisory Risk For Canada

Share The Article

Last Updated

The U.S. Department of State has recently – from 4 Aprillowered its travel advisory level for Canada to Level 3 – with the nation previously having been listed at level 4.

Although the State Department’s level 3 category states that Americans should ‘reconsider travel’ to the country, Canada had previously been listed at level 4 – which is the highest level of travel advisory, and advises travelers ‘not to travel’ to such nations.

Toronto skyline, Canada

Why Was Canada Previously Listed At ‘Level 4’ By The U.S. State Department?

Back at the beginning of the year – in January – Canada was placed onto the State Department’s list of ‘Level 4 – Do Not Travel’ nations due to the high number of Omicron Covid-19 cases inside the country.

Hector Lake and Canadian Rockies in Canada

And, at the same time America’s Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) also placed Canada onto their ‘Level 4: Covid-19 Very High Risk’ list – justifying their decision with the following statement:

“Because of the current situation in Canada, even fully vaccinated travelers may be at risk for getting and spreading COVID-19 variants. Travelers should follow recommendations or requirements in Canada, including wearing a mask and staying 6 feet apart from others.”

Garry Point Park, Richmond, Canada

What Is The Difference Between The State Department’s ‘Travel Advisories’ And The CDC’s ‘Travel Health Notices’?

Although both of the above lists are interlinked, the CDC’s ‘Travel Health Notices’ list focuses purely on any health-related concerns that the national public health agency may have regarding potential risks that might be posed to Americans visiting a particular nation.

cdc headquarters

And, throughout the Covid-19 pandemic, the CDC has also monitored the Covid-19 risks in nations with its list of Covid-19 levels attributed to countries.

The Department of State’s ‘Travel Advisories’ – on the other hand – are based on a much broader set of risk indicators relating to safety and security.

The Department of State HQ

Why Have The U.S. State Department Lowered Canada’s Travel Advisory Risk? 

Canada has now been downgraded from a ‘level 4’ to a ‘level 3’ nation due to its improved Covid-19 situation.

And, the news comes just after Canada announced that from the beginning of this month – 1 April – it was removing pre-arrival Covid-19 testing for vaccinated travelers. 

car driving down a winding road in Quebec, Canada

What Are Canada’s Current Entry Requirements?

Well, as just mentioned, fully vaccinated travelers visiting Canada no longer need to take a pre-departure Covid-19 test in order to enter.

However, there are still a number of entry requirements that visitors wanting to enter the country will have to adhere to.

Female hiking in the mountains in Canada

The Entry Requirements For Fully Vaccinated Travelers

  • Proof of vaccination against Covid-19 – a list of accepted vaccines can be found here
  • Complete the mandatory ArriveCAN form with your contact information.
International vaccine certificate

Travelers may also be subject to random Covid-19 testing upon arrival.

Unvaccinated Travelers Are Currently Not Permitted To Enter For Tourism Purposes

Foreign nationals that are unvaccinated are currently NOT permitted to visit Canada for tourism purposes – and at this present time only unvaccinated Canadian citizens and residents are able to enter, as well as individuals with other exemptions.

Canadian flag and Parliament buildings in Ottawa in the background

If you are unvaccinated you can find out if you are eligible to enter the country by clicking here.

Unvaccinated travelers – that are eligible to enter Canada – will be subject to mandatory pre-departure and on-arrival Covid-19 testing, as well as mandatory 14-day quarantine.

The U.S. State Department Issues 28 New Travel Advisories

US Department of State HQ in Washington

Just yesterday – 6 April – we reported that the U.S. State Department had issued a wide range of new updates to its travel advisory lists – with the likes of French Guiana, Haiti, Iran, Iraq, Libya and Malaysia all being placed onto the ‘Level 4: Do Not Travel’ list.

American travelers can remain informed about the U.S. State Department’s travel advisories by clicking here.

CDC sign at entrance

And, you can keep up-to-date with the CDC’s Covid-19 travel recommendations – by clicking here.

Read more:

Travel Insurance That Covers Covid-19 In 2022

U.S. State Department Issues 28 New Travel Advisories

↓ Elevate Your Travel↓

Sign Up Now For Travel Off Path Premium! No ads, VIP Content, Personal Travel Concierge, Huge Savings, Daily Deals, Members Forum & More!

✈️Join Our Travel Off Path Community Forum: Where travelers unite, ask questions, share experiences and even find like-minded travel buddies!


Enter your email address to subscribe to Travel Off Path's latest breaking travel news, straight to your inbox.

This article originally appeared on

Opinions expressed here are the author’s alone, not those of any bank, credit card issuer, hotel, airline, or other entity. This content has not been reviewed, approved or otherwise endorsed by any of the entities included within the post.